A Brief Illustrated Guide to Understanding Islam

Islamic Art for the 21st Century







The 5 Pillars of Islam

1. Shahada - the profession of faith in the uniqueness of Allah and the centrality of Mohammed as his prophet
2. Salat - formal worship or prayer
3. Zakat - the giving of alms for the poor, assessed on all adult Muslims as 2.5% of capital assets once a year
4. Hajj - pilgrimage to Mecca, which every Muslim should undertake at least once in their lifetime; the annual hajj takes place during the last 10 days of the 12th lunar month every year
5. Sawm - fasting during Ramadan, the holy ninth month of the lunar year.


From Beliefs and Laws of Islam by Stephen Bates